Not signed in (Sign In)

Vanilla 1.1.10 is a product of Lussumo. More Information: Documentation, Community Support.

Urhm,is there any way to retrive the admin's password? I forgot mine and I cant login now.
    •  
      CommentAuthormike
    • CommentTimeOct 22nd 2005

You will have to change it manually in your database. Use PHPMyAdmin or another database management product from your ISP control panel. The password is stored in the field "password" within "plogger_config".

It's not stored plaintext, so you will have to run the MD5 function on whatever plaintext password you enter. In PHPMyAdmin, just select MD5 from the function dropdown.
    thanks! it worked.
    • CommentAuthorsjtodd
    • CommentTimeJun 1st 2006

Mike-I'm new to SQL and am still learning a lot. I am abroad right now and using my laptop which I do not have my plogger password stored in. Can you walk me through the steps on how to change the username and password through PHPMyAdmin? I can access the database, and I've found "plogger_config," but from there I don't know what to do. Thanks for your help.
    •  
      CommentAuthormike
    • CommentTimeJun 1st 2006

Ok, you're almost there just follow these steps:

• Open PHPAdmin in your browser

• Click on "plog_config" in the table list

• Click the "browse" tab at the top of the right hand frame

• There should be one record, click the "pencil" in the first column of the record table to edit that record

• Your password is in "admin_password" and your username is in "admin_username". Notice that your password is a MD5 hash (ex: b02a961ed8a02a25ab783e48b79865f0), it is stored that way for security reasons. In order to create a new password, you need to replace that hash with another one. PHPAdmin has a built in password hasher, so simply type your new password in plaintext (ex: "password"), and in that dropdown box in the function column, select MD5.

• Save it, try logging into your installation again

Thankful People: sergeglass