Not signed in (Sign In)

Vanilla 1.1.10 is a product of Lussumo. More Information: Documentation, Community Support.

• CommentAuthorjlw
    • CommentTimeOct 30th 2007

I don't know if anyone else had had this problem or not, but I had not been able to get commenting to work properly for the user. If someone submitted a comment, it would get put into moderation correctly. BUT, after clicking the Submit button, the user wouldn't be taken anywhere useful -- instead, the browser would display a message saying "Too many redirects" or some variation thereof. (Firefox helpfully explained that the page was trying to reload itself over and over.)

After quite a bit of clumsy poking (remember, I am NOT a programmer!) in the "plog-comment.php" file, I isolated the problem . It's in the following line of code, which is supposed to build a URL that directs the user back to the original picture page:

$redirect = str_replace("&","&",generate_url("picture",$parent_id, array(), true));

Later on, a "location:$redirect" statement sends the user to the URL built and stored in the $redirect variable.

By including an "echo" statement farther down the page, I was able to find that the URL wasn't being built correctly; it was linking back to the comment module instead of the original picture page.

As it happens, though, all picture pages within Plogger have the same URL format:

http://mysiteurl.net/nameofploggerdirectory/?level=picture&id=000

where the "000" is replaced with the ID number of the individual picture. In the original line of code, that ID number is stored within the "$parent_id" variable.

Now, if Mike were fixing this, he'd have to make it all sanitary and location-independent and so on. But I don't! Instead, I just commented out the original "problem" line in the "plog-comment.php" file, which you'll recall was...

$redirect = str_replace("&","&",generate_url("picture",$parent_id, array(), true));