Not signed in (Sign In)

Vanilla 1.1.10 is a product of Lussumo. More Information: Documentation, Community Support.

• CommentAuthorsorcerer
    • CommentTimeApr 21st 2010

I am new to this image hosting thing. Would like to ask a very basic question about image hosting.

Suppose I go into a web page, like this one
    http://www.plogger.org/demo/?level=picture&id=88
    and I click on an image like
    http://www.plogger.org/demo/images/hobbies/skydiving/img_1785.JPG

An image shows up on the screen. Is the image downloaded to my computer already that is why I can see it on the screen (and I just right click on the image to save it) or the image is still sitting on the host site and I am actually viewing the image physically located in the remote host site on my computer. If it is the latter, does right click on the image to save the image to my computer constitute a FTP operation?

Would someone be kind enough to tell me how this viewing operation works or even better, give me some key words or hints so that I can google on the web? I can handle any math or technical details throw at me.

I apologize for asking such a basis question.
    Thanks in advance.
    Sorcerer
    Hi Sorcerer,
    when ever you open a webpage all the elements in the page(images/videos/cookies etc ) gets stored in your browsers cache folder. when you right click and save the image, you just replicate the file that is already stored in your computer(cache/temp folder).There is no ftp operation involved here.
    • CommentAuthorsorcerer
    • CommentTimeApr 21st 2010

Hello supertelugu,